- Vital Records
- Online Land Records
- Property Fraud Alert
- 2022 Elections
- Election Results
Piatt County Clerk & Recorder
101 W Washington, Room 110
P.O. Box 558
Monticello, IL 61856
Ph (217) 762-9487
Fx (217) 762-7563
- Meet the Clerk
PIATT COUNTY CLERK AND RECORDER
COUNTY CLERK SCHEDULE OF FEES - VITAL RECORDS
Fees paid to the Piatt County Clerk and Recorders Office must be in the form of cash, check or money order. The office is unable to accept payment by credit card.
BIRTHS: Certified - $13.00 for first, $10.00 for each additional of same record; Genealogical - $5.00 each (must be on file a minimum of 75 years).
Birth records are on file from 1916 to present; limited records are available from 1861. A person must be at least 18 years of age to request a copy of his own record. Parents or legal guardians may request certificates for their children. In addition to the applicable fee, mail-in requests must include full name on birth record, date of birth, parents' full names (including mother's maiden name), a signature, return address, and Photo ID.
MARRIAGES: Certified - $13.00 for first, $10.00 for each additional of same record; Genealogical - $5.00 each (must be on file a minimum of 50 years).
Marriage records are on file from 1841 to present. In addition to the applicable fee, mail-in requests must include the bride and groom's full names (bride's maiden name), date of marriage, return address, and photo ID.
DEATHS: Certified - $19.00 for first, $14.00 for each additional of same record; Genealogical - $5.00 each (must be on file a minimum of 20 years).
Death records are on file from 1916 to present; limited records are available from 1877. In addition to the applicable fee, mail-in requests must include full name of deceased, date of death, return address, and photo ID.
SEARCH FEE: $5.00.
ASSUMED NAME CERTIFICATES - $20.00. The fee for changes (address, withdrawal of name, etc.) is $5.00.
NOTARY PUBLIC COMMISSIONS: New commissions and renewals are recorded in the County Clerk's office and may be obtained for the following fee: In person or by mail - $14.00.
INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN PIATT COUNTY
WHERE TO APPLY
Office of Jennifer Harper, Piatt County Clerk
Courthouse, Room 110
101 W. Washington
Monticello, IL 61856
Hours: 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
Both parties must appear at the County Clerk's office. Blood tests are not required; however, at least one ID, which includes date of birth for each party, must be presented at the time license is applied for. Also, if either applicant has previously been married, he/she must state how that marriage ended, i.e. death or divorce, and provide the date on which it occurred. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to being used, and is void 60 days after the effective date. A license obtained in Piatt County is not valid in any other county.
PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY
According to laws of the State of Illinois, blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, may not marry. However, first cousins 50 years of age or older may marry in this State.
The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $75.00.
In order to marry within the State of Illinois without parental consent, a person must be at least 18 years of age and provide proof of such when applying for license. If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, BOTH parents or guardians must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk's office at the time the license is applied for. In the case of only one parent having custody, proof of such is required. If it is not possible for a parent or guardian to sign in this office, they may do so in the office of the County Clerk in the county in which they reside.
RETURN OF LICENSE
The license must be returned to the County Clerk's office within 10 days after the date of marriage.
REQUEST FOR RECORDS
If requesting by mail, submit requests along with applicable fee (check or money order) to:
Piatt County Clerk
PO Box 558
Monticello, IL 61856.